latest finds

Lately, I’ve been trying to find more unique pieces. Typically when I walk into a store, I immediately gravitate towards anything neutral, black, or denim. There’s nothing wrong with keeping it simple, but it’s fun to play up your wardrobe with prints, patterns, & embellishment. Here are my five latest finds that are budget-friendly & take you from blending in to stepping into the limelight.

 

 

STATEMENT DENIM // MODERN MESS // $84 

ABOUT // Okay…so…this is the only piece that isn’t super “budget-friendly,” but it also isn’t your life savings either. — I recently visited Tulsa & they have this awesome shop setup downtown called The Boxyard. It’s constructed out of repurposed shipping containers & made for a unique shopping experience. The shop was called Modern Mess & I completely fell in love with the limited edition pieces they had. Since their pieces are minimal & hand-picked, you can shop their instagram! (@mymodmess)

I bought a size L, because I love the way the oversize fit compliments the grungier look of the jacket. I already own four denim jackets, but a girl can never have too much denim…am I right or am I right? Every distress & fit is different, thus me justifying buying another denim jacket. Also, this jacket is just plain cool.

WEAR // I like to pair this jacket with a black tee/tank & black pants. I pair it with my white vans sk8 hi’s or black slip-on sneakers. Since the jacket has so much detail, I like to keep the rest of my outfit pretty simple.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

 

STUDDED LEATHER // FOREVER 21 // $45

ABOUT // I bought this adorable leather from Forever 21. It comes in the color “nude” but has a pinkish undertone to it. It’s a great jacket to make you feel the perfect combination of girly & cool, with a little edge. I’m sure every girl can testify to the fact that Forever 21’s clothes have unpredictable fits. A chain store with low prices often means low quality…but I still love me some Forever. I almost bought a size L, but the shoulders looked like I was rockin’ some 80’s shoulder pads. So! I settled on a size M & the fit is much better.

WEAR // There’s a couple ways I like to wear this jacket. Typically, I like the sharp look of black on black underneath with my sk8 hi’s or slip-on’s. But it’s fun to play it up too! So, go ahead & get a lil funky — throw on a graphic tee, light-wash mom jeans, & sk8 hi’s.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

 

PALM PRINT BLOUSE // OLD NAVY // $25

ABOUT // Old Navy has seriously been my go-to these days. They have great basics for your wardrobe, but also so many playful patterns/prints. And they literally always have sales happening – which is super ideal for a girl on a budget. This top is listed at $24.94, but I got it for 20% off AND I had $10 in Super Cash. Hello! Talk about a deal. I bought this top in a size M. It’s loose & flowy, without looking baggy. The size S fit nicely, but I preferred the extra length of the M. The V-neck isn’t too low (#ModestIsHottest), & there’s an adorable keyhole cut-out on the back.

WEAR // For daytime, I like to pair this top with white pants & wedges/sandals. For evening, pair it with a leather jacket, black pants, & black ankle boots. — Since it’s a light summer-y print, help edge it up little for night. And because black makes everything better.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

 

RIPPED BLACK PANTS // OLD NAVY // $37

ABOUT // YOU. GUYS. I absolutely swear by Old Navy’s Rockstar pants. They are THE best fitted pants I have found. I’m 5’3″ & a half. (The half matters, okay?). There’s no mistaking my booty & a thigh gap is no where in my near future. The Rockstar pants have just enough stretch to make them insanely comfortable, but they still have the fit of actual pants. They’re sold in low, mid, & high-rise. I love the mid-rise; they hit in all the right places for my height. AND it gets better. Rockstar pants are sold in basically every style you could want. I own…olive, burgundy, white, ripped white, black, ripped black, & a few different denims. I can’t stop, you guys. I have a problem & I don’t want help.

WEAR // All black, graphic tee, white tee, denim…they’re black pants, people. The options are endless. Typically, you’ll find me with a black tee, black denim jacket, & my white sk8 hi’s. Shocker.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

 

STRIPE JUMPSUIT // OLD NAVY // $40

ABOUT // This jumpsuit is a linen-blend, so it’s light & comfy. It comes in a brighter blue denim, black, & floral print – but the blue stripes are so fun! I usually buy a size M or L in clothing, but I bought this in a size S. The pant is loose and flowy, & the top feels like a twist on the conventional overall.

WEAR // I found the best tank ever at Old Navy, & I love layering the white one underneath this jumpsuit. (I bought this tank in white, black, & black/white stripe. I like my options.) Pair this jumpsuit with wedges & you’re good to go!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

 

I hope you love some of these pieces as much as I do! 🖤

Leave a comment